ELECTRIC ISLAND MAY 2017

Hello friends!

Despite promising myself I’d blog more this year, I ended up taking another 2-month hiatus — but the good thing is, I finally graduated! After months of that University of Toronto grind, I’ve managed to get my undergrad degree for Rotman Commerce and my minor in psychology completed (as well as achieving my goal of increasing my GPA!!! :D)

With Canada Day coming up, I thought I’d write this post about Electric Island – one of Toronto’s most iconic summer music festivals for techno and tech house music. Traditionally hosted on Toronto Centre Island – you take the ferry and walk out to Hanlan’s point where the stages and music are. There are 5 EI’s per summer, each one is on a long weekend from May to August.

My first time at EI was last summer, and I loved it so much I ended up attending 2 more that year after my first experience. Though I would only consider myself someone who appreciates techno (I love that kind of music but I haven’t explored as many artists in that genre as I have with other genres like bass or house), I find that everything – the crowd, the setting, the music – goes together in such a unique and wonderful way that is so different from other festivals I’ve been to. Even my friends who aren’t the biggest fans of techno (they need that 1-2-3 jump lol) really enjoyed Electric Island. Some of my favorite DJs I’ve seen at EI are EATS EVERYTHING (amazing amazing set – check out this song he remixed of Green Velvet it’s one of my favs!), Green Velvet (playing a Get Real set), Joris Voorn, and Ben Klock.

So, I’ll post a few photos I took at the event as well as a recap video I made 🙂 Hope it makes it easier for some of you to decide what you want to do for Canada Day~

Note: This year, Toronto Island has unfortunately been closed due to flooding. The May 2017 event was held in Woodbine Park, and the Canada Day event is to be held in the Portlands.

-E.

Photos:

IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:50:54IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:50:45IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:50:50IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:51:02IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:51:08IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:51:12IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:51:17IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:51:22IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:51:28IMAGE 2017-06-27 18:51:32

Video:

 

** Electric Island also has tons of fun little things like ping pong (sponsored by SPiN), food/drink vendors who are pretty generous with samples, and cute backgrounds to take photos at! This post was not at all sponsored or influenced by anyone – I just love going to EI and wanted to share my experience with my friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

